Infiniti QX30 Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’ve installed oil catch cans in all of my cars. I’m no engineer, so some of this tech terms might be wrong but what a catch can does is filter out and capture vaporized oil coming from the crank case to the intake manifold. Without a catch can, this vaporized oil will eventually coat your intake manifold and valves.

I have an extra catch can laying around my garage and I’m thinking of installing it in my mom’s QX30. I just need to figure out where to mount the can, where the PCV valve is, and what size hoses I’ll need to use.

Has anyone installed a can in their car? Any tips would be appreciated.

·
Super Moderator
385 Posts
Depending on your jurisdiction, messing with the EVAP system may actually be illegal. Even if it's not illegal in your area, I wouldn't do it, personally.

Oil catch cans is one of those useless modifications that people love to push in car culture, for some reason. Car manufacturers spend millions -- perhaps billions -- on R&D, and yet you'll still find shade-tree mechanics that think they know better with a can of Foldgers duct-taped under their hood. The only thing that a catch can tells me, in a street car, is to not trust that owner about car-related matters.

I've re-built my share of engines. The ones that were slugged up were either bad designs (looking at you, VW 1.8 and Toyota 1MZ-FE) or their owner didn't maintain them properly. Use the proper oil and change it at a reasonable interval and your engine will last several hundred of thousands of miles.

·
Registered
2018 Infiniti QX30 Premium (Mother's Car)
35 Posts
I too never really understood the use of catch cans, unless you're racing a car or drifting a car at a track. Like p07r0457 said earlier, keep using the correct oil and make sure to change your oil at the correct mileage intervals (or time intervals if the car isn't driven much).

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #4